20 Questions with Joele Guynup

We are honored that Joele agreed to play our game of 20 questions and super happy to have her as the 2nd feature! In addition to her impressive racing background, she has been working in the bike industry for a very long time, currently as a territory manager at Cervelo and Focus bikes. Her home base is Victoria, BC. 

 

Meet Joele Guynup

Joele3.jpg
Joele2.jpg
Joele1.jpg

1. How long have you been riding bikes? 

I rode a lot as a kid growing up in a small town, but started taking it “seriously” 14 years ago.

2. How did you get acquainted with cycling? 

I dated a guy in university that raced XC mtb. Rather than just supporting at races I decided to buy a mountain bike and try racing myself.

3. What kind of riding do you do? (track, mtb, road, cx, all of the above, etc) 

A little bit of everything except track - mtb, road, cx.

4. How many bikes have you owned throughout your time cycling?

13 mtb, 8 cx bikes, 8 road bikes, 2 commuter bikes, so (counts on fingers) 31 total.

5. How many bikes do you currently own? 

6, but I’m working on a 7th

6. What is your dream bike? 

On the road, an R5 Disc with Dura Ace Di2.

7.  What is your most memorable cycling experience? 

Ha, two diametrically opposed: First, the panic of realizing my stepdad (who’d promised not to let go) had let go 100 meters back the day he took off my training wheels off (I immediately crashed). Second, winning a BC Cup CX race at New Brighton Park - everything came together for me and I was able to race head to head with women I’d lined up behind and looked up to for years of racing, it was one of the best days I’ve ever pinned on a number.

8. How many of your friends ride bikes? 

Most, but not all - with most of my life being about bikes, a dose of non-bike reality is good for the soul every once in a while.

9. Do you prefer riding alone, in a small group or a large group? 

I love riding alone or with a group small enough to stay off main cycling routes and slip off onto small country roads.

10. Have you ever traveled with your bike? Where? 

The furthest I’ve traveled was to Sugar Mountain in North Carolina for a NORBA MTB Race, but I’ve traveled through most of the Western US (WA, OR, ID, MT, NV, AZ, CA, CO), Alberta, Ontario, throughout BC, and the Yukon for riding and racing.

11. What is the biggest challenge you faced when you started riding bikes? 

Finding other women to ride with - I jumped around in between a few groups in my first couple years before I found a group of people/women that were interested in doing the kind of riding I was. It has been so fun over the last 14 years to watch women’s cycling grow with clinics, events, group rides, etc.

12. What are your cycling goals for this year? 

Ride more than last year, enjoy every minute I can on the bike, and maybe even “train” for CX season.

13. What is your post-ride ritual? 

A beer or coffee, preferably on a sunny patio followed up by a home-cooked meal.

14. Bibs or non-bibs? 

Bibs

15. Do you believe that your socks should be at least 5” long, or, short? 

I’m all about getting a nice gradient to my sock tan line, so 5+ inches off road and a wide range when I’m road riding.

16. What is your hairstyle preference while cycling? 

Ponytail in the dry, single braid in the wet.

17. What snacks are always in your jersey pocket? 

Kind Bars or Jujubes.

18. Cycling specific sunglasses or casual glasses? 

Whatever is closest to my helmet.

19. Bar tape loud and bright, or black and classic? 

I’m all about the black on black look.

20. What advice would you give to other women who are just starting out? 

Don’t be afraid to ask questions, make sure your bike fits you properly, and always be up for the adventure - some of the best rides/routes are caused by wrong turns.


Stay tuned for next week's feature... If you want to be featured, get in touch. You can even simply answer the questions above and email us the answers! We would love to feature ALL women who ride bikes, regardless of where they are from, their age, ability or experience level.